Woman Charged with Vehicular Assault, DUI After Crash on US-50
Several people were injured, including three children, in what police suspect was a drunk driving crash on US-50 in Pueblo on June 7.
According to Colorado State Troopers, 38-year-old Misty Johnson was attempting to pass several vehicles in the shoulder lane of westbound US-50 on Friday afternoon. She reportedly lost control of her vehicle and collided with a Dodge Ram that was pulling a camper. Both vehicles then left the roadway and tipped over.
35-year-old Michael Engebrecht was driving the Dodge Ram and suffered serious injuries. He was flown to Parkview Medical Center in Pueblo. An 8-year-ld passenger was also seriously injured.
Three other Dodge passengers suffered moderate injuries in the crash – 38-year-old Lauren Engebrecht and her 13-year-old daughter and 14-year-old son.
Johnson was also moderately injured and was hospitalized at Parkview Medical. She is charged with vehicular assault – DUI and vehicular assault – reckless driving.
Hi. I am attorney Brian Kent
If you or a loved one were injured or killed in this incident or a similar incident, I would be happy to speak with you and discuss your options.
Call the number below. It would be my honor to help you. Consultations are free.
Legal Recourse For People Injured by Drunk Drivers in Colorado
At CrimeVictim.Attorney, our drunk driving crash victims lawyers are proud to represent people who have been injured by drunk drivers. In many cases, these individuals are entitled to financial compensation. Here are a few general thoughts on the legal options available to people who have been hit by drunk drivers in Colorado:
In drunk driving injury cases, there are many situations where the victims have multiple options for financial compensation. In every state, people who have been hurt by drunk drivers may have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit. Colorado is also one of many states with dram shop laws, which can be used to hold alcohol vendors liable for injuries caused by their customers.
The dram shop laws in each state vary and only apply in certain situations. According to Colorado’s dram shop law, alcohol vendors can be sued for injuries caused by a customer if the vendor served alcohol to someone who was either visibly intoxicated or under 21 years of age.
This means that if a bartender serves a visibly drunk or underage customer and that customer injures someone else in a drunk driving crash, the injured party may have grounds for a lawsuit against the bar.
Determining dram shop liability is complicated and will require legal guidance. You can learn more about your legal options after being injured by a drunk driver in a free consultation with an experienced drunk driving crash victims lawyer.
US-50 in Pueblo, Colorado
- Vancouver, Washington – Ellsworth Elementary School PE Teacher Jerry Miller Accused of Child Sex Abuse - August 15, 2019
- Carpentersville, Illinois – Former Golfview Elementary Substitute Teacher Convicted of Child Sexual Assault - August 13, 2019
- Hornell, New York – Former Loyola Recovery Center Physician’s Assistant Christoper Mu Charged with Rape of Patient - August 8, 2019