One person was killed and three others were injured in a crash in Pennsville Township, Salem County on Friday night.
According to the police, the crash occurred at approximately 9:30 p.m. on North Hook Road, near the intersection with Beaver Avenue. Police say that a 30-year-old man was driving an Audi Q-7 along North Hook Road and crossed the median, colliding head-on with a Ford Focus.
Shortly before the crash, several people had called the police to report that there was a vehicle speeding at over 100 mph and driving erratically on North Hook Road.
There were four occupants of the Ford Focus. Emergency crews worked to free them. Tragically, the 60-year-old male driver was pronounced dead at the scene. A 60-year-old woman, 30-year-old woman, and 16-year-old boy inside of the Focus were hospitalized at Christiana Hospital in Newark, Delaware, with non-life-threatening injuries.
The Audi driver was hospitalized at Camden’s Cooper Hospital and police said he was tested for a possible DUI. No charges have been filed at this time, but police say he will face multiple charges.
Attorney contributor Brian Kent represents people who have been injured in car crashes and helps them secure the financial compensation they need for the damages they’ve suffered. Here is Brian with some thoughts on the legal rights of those injured in New Jersey DUI crashes:
Getting injured in a car crash can result in many long-term difficulties – including expensive medical care, lost wages from missing work, pain and suffering, and other personal and financial setbacks. If you’ve been injured in a crash with a drunk driver, it’s important to be aware of your options for financial compensation for these setbacks.
People who have been injured by drunk drivers may have grounds for a personal injury lawsuit against the driver. However, there are some situations where further financial compensation is available. In some DUI crash cases, those injured may have grounds for a lawsuit against an alcohol vendor who served the drunk driver before the crash. This second type of lawsuit is called a dram shop claim.
New Jersey is one of several states with dram shop laws. According to the dram shop laws in this state, a vendor can be held liable for injuries caused by a customer if the customer was “visibly intoxicated” when the vendor served them or was under 21 years old and the vendor knew or reasonably should have known this.
If you or a loved one has been hit by a drunk driver, you can learn more about your right to financial compensation in a free consultation with one of our experienced car accident lawyers.