Last Update: 7/13/2020
Attorney Commentary: You can learn more about your legal rights after being hit by a drunk driver in the second section of this article, with legal commentary from attorney Bobby Thompson.
Two people were injured in a three-vehicle suspected drunk driving crash on Highway 135 in Orcutt on Monday morning, May 18. One of the two injured parties was an 18-year-old Santa Maria man who police arrested on suspicion of drunk driving.
According to the police, 18-year-old Jesse Star was driving a silver Hyundai sedan southbound on Highway 135 at around 10 a.m. and crashed into a blue Chevy extended cab pickup truck and a silver Mercedes Benz sedan. Police suspect that he was speeding at the time.
The Mercedes went tumbling over a divider and landed on the shoulder in the northbound lane. The Hyundai also rolled over and came to a stop in the shoulder of the southbound lane. The Hyundai lost two wheels in the crash.
At least two people were injured, including Star. He was arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence and possibly drugs. He was then flown to Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital with head trauma injuries.
The female driver of the Mercedes was brought to Marian Regional Medical Center via ambulance.
Bobby Thompson, a generous contributor to Legal Herald, represents persons who have been injured in crashes caused by drunk drivers, helping them recover the financial compensation they deserve. Here is Bobby with some info on the legal options available to people who have been hit by drunk drivers in California:
“In all 50 states, people who have been injured by drunk drivers may file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver. Additionally, several states have what are known as third-party liability or ‘dram shop laws,’ which allow alcohol vendors and social hosts to be sued for injuries caused by people to whom they provided alcohol.”
Bobby explained, “California is one state with these third-party liability laws, but the state laws are more restrictive than most others. Nevertheless, an alcohol vendor (like a bar) or a social host (an adult who provides alcohol to guests) can be held liable for DUI crash injuries if they served someone under 21 years old who injured others in a subsequent crash.”