Man Arrested for Intoxication Manslaughter After Fatal Wreck
29-year-old Austin Shadle was arrested early Thursday morning following a fatal two-vehicle accident that resulted in the death of one person in Denton. Police believe he was intoxicated at the time of the crash and arrested him on suspicion of intoxication manslaughter.
Police responded to the scene after receiving reports of an accident on the 3300 block of Fort Worth Drive. Both drivers were injured and brought to the hospital by ambulance. One of the drivers, whose name has not been released, was pronounced dead at the hospital.
After an investigation, police determined that Shadle was traveling southbound in his Nissan Titan on Fort Worth Drive and drifted off the west side of the road into a grass ditch. He attempted to re-enter the roadway but lost control of his vehicle and continued drifting sideways through the ditch. He eventually slid onto the roadway and into the northbound lane, where the truck collided with the driver’s side of a Mazda 3 – resulting in the death of that driver.
Legal Options for Drunk Driving Victims in Texas
Attorney contributor Brian Kent of CrimeVictim.Attorney helps alcohol-related accident victims recover the financial compensation they deserve for the damages they’ve suffered. Here is some insight from Brian on the legal options these victims and families have in Texas:
Like all other states, Texas allows its residents to file personal injury lawsuits if they’re injured in an alcohol-related accident. Texas is also one of several states that have “dram shop” laws, which allow third parties like alcohol vendors and social hosts to be held liable in certain situations if they provided alcohol to the person who caused the accident.
Both alcohol vendor and social host liability are covered under Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code Chapter 2. Vendors can be held liable for providing alcohol to someone who causes alcohol-related injuries if:
- the alcohol was provided to someone under 18 years old, or
- when the alcohol was provided, the customer was “obviously intoxicated” and posed a “clear danger” to their own safety and the safety of others, and
- the intoxication was a foreseeable cause of the injuries.
Social hosts can be held liable if they were over 21 years old and provided alcohol to someone under age 18 if:
- the adult is not the minor’s parent, guardian, legal custodian, or spouse, and
- the adult knowingly served or provided the alcohol to the minor or allowed the minor to drink on their property.
If you or a loved one has been injured or killed in a drunk driving accident, you can learn more about your legal options by speaking to an experienced DUI crash victims attorney.
The 3300 Block of Fort Worth Drive in Denton, TX
- San Antonio, Texas – 1 Critically Injured in Alleged Shooting at McDonald’s Fast Food Chain - January 16, 2020
- Austin, Texas – 1 Dead in Alleged Shooting at Mueller City View Apartments - January 15, 2020
- New Orleans, Louisiana – 1 Dead, Another Injured in Alleged Walmart Shooting - January 12, 2020