Mercury Moon Bar & Grill

4 people were injured in a suspected drunk driving crash near Mercury Moon Bar & Grill.

4 Injured in Suspected DUI Hit-and-Run on County Road 220

Four people were injured in a suspected drunk driving hit-and-run crash on County Road 220 Saturday evening.

According to the Florida Highway Patrol, 30-year-old Matthew Bergeron was in the left lane and went to turn into the parking lot of the Mercury Moon Bar and Grill when he failed to stop. Investigators say this resulted in Bergeron’s pickup truck being hit by a white Hyundai Elantra.

According to troopers, Bergeron fled the scene of the crash but was later arrested by the Clay County Sheriff’s Office. He has been charged with DUI with serious bodily injury to another, driving with a suspended license, and leaving the scene of a crash.

Two passengers in Bergeron’s truck were brought to Orange Park Medical Center with serious injuries. The driver of the Elantra also suffered serious injuries and a passenger in that vehicle suffered minor injuries.

Brian Kent - Attorney

Hi. I am attorney Brian Kent

If you or a loved one were injured or killed in this incident or a similar incident, I would be happy to speak with you and discuss your options.

Call the number below. It would be my honor to help you. Consultations are free.


Financial Compensation For People Injured by Drunk Drivers in Florida

Attorney contributor Brian Kent of CrimeVictim.Attorney is a personal injury lawyer who helps people who have been injured by drunk drivers recover the full financial compensation to which they are entitled. Here is Brian with some information on the options for financial compensation available to victims of drunk driving crashes in Florida:

In all 50 states, people who have been injured by drunk drivers have the right to file a personal injury lawsuit against the drunk driver. Additionally, Florida and several other states have “dram shop” laws, which allow alcohol vendors to be held liable for injuries caused by their customers – depending on certain conditions.

According to Florida’s dram shop law, people who have been injured by drunk drivers can sue an alcohol vendor that served the drunk driver if:

  • The vendor served alcohol to someone who was under 21 years old, or
  • served alcohol to someone known to be “habitually addicted” to alcohol, and
  • that person goes on to cause injuries to someone else.

Each drunk driving injury case is unique and the available legal options will depend on the circumstances of the crash. If you or a loved one has been injured by a drunk driver, you can learn more about your legal options in a free consultation with one of our experienced drunk driving injury victims lawyers.

Mercury Moon Bar & Grill in Fleming Island, FL



Legal Herald News

About Joe LaFrance


Joe is a content writer with a focus on the legal field. He covers cases of sexual abuse, drunk driving, and preventable violent crime for the Legal Herald.

Contact Joe: [email protected]

This article was fact checked prior to publishing by this author to ensure compliance with our rigorous editorial standards. We will only use authoritative sources. Our values compel us to provide only trustworthy information. If you find an error, please contact us.

View All Posts