Raynham Man Charged With 5th OUI After Accident
Raynham Police charged 57-year-old Peter Trudeau with his fifth OUI for allegedly driving drunk and causing an accident on New State Highway Thursday afternoon. Trudeau was arrested and has been charged with OUI Liquor (Fifth Offense), Leaving the Scene of Personal Injury (Two Counts), OUI Liquor Causing Serious Injury, Negligent Operation of a Motor Vehicle, Operation of a Motor Vehicle After License Revocation While Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol, and Use Without Authority.
At roughly 1:15 p.m. on Thursday, officers responded to the scene of the 3-vehicle crash on New State Highway (aka Route 44) near the Route 24 North on-ramp. After arriving, officers found a Chrysler Sebring and a Nissan Sentra, which both had rear-end damage. The driver of the Chrysler, 83-year-old Benvia Fall, and the driver of the Nissan, 67-year-old Grace Levinson, were both injured in the crash.
A witness told police that a third vehicle had caused the accident and fled from the scene. The witness also wrote down the license plate of the third vehicle, a black Ford Taurus. Police were able to track down Trudeau at a home on Church Street, where the vehicle was registered and found the heavily damaged vehicle in the driveway. Trudeau was also discovered at the home and arrested there.
Legal Options For Drunk Driving Accident Victims in Massachusetts
Brian Kent of CrimeVictim.Attorney helps the victims of drunk driving crashes recover the financial compensation they deserve for the damages they’ve suffered. We’ve asked him to add some input into the legal options available to these victims in Massachusetts:
When an intoxicated person causes an accident and others are injured or killed, the victims and their families may choose to take legal action by filing a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit. Additionally, Massachusetts is one of many states which allow alcohol vendors to be held civilly liable for providing alcohol to a drunk driver prior to an accident.
According to Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 138, Section 69, alcohol vendors are prohibited from selling alcohol to an “intoxicated person.” Vendors who break this law may be considered negligent when the intoxicated person they served causes an accident which results in injuries or deaths.
If your or a loved one has been hit by a drunk driver and you’d like to learn more about your legal right to financial compensation, consider speaking with an experienced DUI victims lawyer today.
Location of New State Highway Near Route 24