Martin Santoyo Medina Arrested For DUI After Accident on 395
Police in Franklin County arrested one of the drivers involved in a suspected DUI accident that left three people injured, including one child, near Pasco on Sunday.
At around 2:45 p.m. on September 2, 19-year-old Martin Santoyo Medina was driving a 2001 Ford Taurus north along state Route 395, roughly 22 miles north of Pasco, when he allegedly struck a 2006 Subaru Forester. Three people in the Forester were injured – 50-year-old driver Florian Preisig, 51-year-old passenger Sara Preisig, and a child passenger. All three victims were brought to Lourdes Medical Center in Pasco for treatment.
Santoyo Medina was not injured in the crash and his vehicle was impounded. He was arrested and booked into the Franklin County Jail for DUI and was released Monday after posting bail.
Drunk Driving Injury and Death Lawsuits in Washington State
Attorney contributor Brian Kent of CrimeVictim.Attorney has offered to add some thoughts on third-party liability for drunk driving accidents in Washington State:
Like all other states, Washington allows the victims of alcohol-related accidents to file personal injury lawsuits against those responsible for causing the accident. Washington is also one of many states with dram shop and social host laws, which allow third parties to also be held liable for alcohol-related accidents and injuries, depending on the circumstances of the accident.
According to Washington’s dram shop law, alcohol vendors (like bars, nightclubs, liquor stores, etc.) can be held liable for alcohol-related injuries if the vendor served alcohol to the person who caused the accident, even after that person was already visibly intoxicated. These establishments can also be held liable for providing alcohol to minors under age 21, regardless of whether that minor was already intoxicated when the alcohol was provided.
Similarly, social host liability laws allow social hosts (like party hosts) to be held liable for alcohol-related injuries caused by their guests if they provided alcohol to a guest who was under age 21 or obviously intoxicated.
Assessing third-party liability for a drunk driving accident is complicated. If you’re curious about your legal rights after you or a loved one was hit by a drunk driver, we advise speaking with an experienced DUI victims lawyer.