Woman Charged with DUI After Crashing Into Home, Injuring 2
A woman has been charged with felony DUI resulting in great bodily injury after crashing into a home in Anderson County and injuring an elderly couple inside on Saturday.
According to state troopers, the crash happened at around 11:56 p.m. on Saturday night. 22-year-old Rebecca Carroll was driving a Chevy Impala northboud on Central Road near Wardlaw Road when she allegedly drove off the left side of the road and crashed into the house.
An 81-yeaer-old man and an 82-year-old owman were inside of the home and both were injured. They were hospitalized with non-life-threatening injuries.
Carroll was charged with felony DUI reuslting in great bodily injury and was held at the Anderson County Detention Center on $20,000 bond.
Hi. I am attorney Brian Kent
If you or a loved one were injured or killed in this incident or a similar incident, I would be happy to speak with you and discuss your options.
Call the number below. It would be my honor to help you. Consultations are free.
Legal Options For People Injured by Drunk Drivers in South Carolina
Are you wondering about your legal options after you or a loved one was injured by a drunk driver in South Carolina? Here is attorney contributor Brian Kent of CrimeVictim.Attorney with a few thoughts on the options for financial compensation available in this state:
In South Carolina and many other states, people who have been injured by drunk drivers may have multiple options for seeking financial compensation. The first is a personal injury lawsuit against the driver, which is available in drunk driving injury cases in all 50 states. Additionally, there are some situations in which those who have been hit by drunk drivers may have grounds for a lawsuit against a bar, restaurant, or another alcohol vendor that served the drunk driver prior to the crash.
This second type of lawsuit is typically known as a dram shop claim. While South Carolina does not have a specific dram shop statute, there have been various state Supreme Court decisions which have established certain situations where alcohol vendors can be held liable for injuries caused by their customers.
In South Carolina, alcohol vendors can be held liable if they served alcohol to someone who was either:
- Under 21 years of age, or
- visibly intoxicated at the time of the sale, and
- that person caused an injury to someone else because of their intoxication.
If you or someone you love has been injured or killed after being hit by a drunk driver, you can learn more about your family’s legal rights by consulting with an experienced drunk driving injury victims lawyer.
- Canaan, New Hampshire – Cardigan Mountain School Employee Kimberly Wennik Fired For Alleged Sexual Contact with Student - August 20, 2019
- Dundalk, Maryland – Former Calvary Baptist Church Pastor Cameron Giovanelli Accused of Sexually Abusing Teen Student - August 15, 2019
- Ketchum, Idaho – 3 Children Killed, Father Somchai Ray Lee Lurak Injured After Collision with Suspected Drunk Driver Matthew R. Park - August 14, 2019